Thika Institute of Technology (TIT), the precursor of Mount Kenya University was established in 2000. The Computer Outreach programme, the precursor of TIT was established in 1996. TIT was constituted into Mount Kenya University (MKU) on 30th May, 2008 following grant of Letter of Interim Authority by the then Commission for Higher Education, CHE. The university was awarded the University Charter on 26th January, 2011. The university was granted the 9001:2008 ISO Certification of Registration on 19th December, 2012.

In 2009, MKU established the School of Social Sciences that housed the Department of Education with twenty eight (28) diploma  students and twenty four (24) Bachelor of Education students. In January 2010, the School of Education was established. Currently the School has four departments namely; Early Childhood Studies, Educational Management and Curriculum Studies, Educational Psychology and Technology and Special Needs Education. Pursuant to the University Quality Management Objective and commitment to continuous improvement, the School of Education has continually improved its facilities to be in line with the advancing technology and to match with increase in student population.

The School of Education is housed in the Chancellor’s Tower occupying 3rd, 4th and 8th Floors. The school has two offices for the Dean, one office for the School Registrar, five offices for the Heads of Departments, Workstations for academic members of staff and six offices for the directorate of school-based programmes.